Father’s Day 2014

 

I can  remember a time, as if it were yesterday, when I was able to celebrate this day – Father’s Day.

My children and my father were my focus and we would spend the day showing our appreciation for eachother in little ways. We had picnics and pool parties, and we delighted in eachothers company. .  At night, I would check on the kids as they slept and with an extra kiss goodnight , I thanked God for having blessed me with such loving and thoughtful children.  I went to bed content with a sense of accomplishment and gratitude.

I’m not able to “celebrate”  Father’s Day right now. Like so many other foresaken fathers, the absence of our children makes this a real challenge.  What I am able to do, however, is remember all the years that my children and I shared in this day, all the years that my hard work as a dedicated and loving parent was recognized by them. 

The card posted here, from my daughter, reminds me of all the good years.  I know that the sentiment she writes is not lost. It is still there, but tucked away.   I believe that when my kids are ready, when they are able, these feelings will resurface and we will once again celebrate this day together.

3 Responses to “Father’s Day 2014”

  1. I am so touched by your thoughts on Father’s Day. Please know that we pray daily that the love
    you have for your children will draw them home to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel your grief, only I feel it on Mother’s Day!

    Like

  3. you are not alone, hang in there!

    Like

Comments & Suggestions are Welcomed

